Skip to content

All other sanctioned countries

Any UC Merced employee who plans to travel to any sanctioned country for any University business purpose, including research, should contact Deborah Motton, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research and Director of Research Compliance at (209-383-8655) well in advance of their planned travel to seek a determination regarding whether an OFAC license is required to authorize the travel. OFAC licensing for travel can take up to two years to obtain.


OFAC's active sanctioned countires (the most comprehensive programs are listed in bold):

  • Belarus

  • Burundi

  • Central African Republic

  • Cuba

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Iran

  • Iraq

  • Lebanon

  • Libya

  • North Korea (*all travel to North Korea by U.S. persons is now prohibited

  • Somalia

  • Sudan

  • Syria

  • Ukraine / Russia

  • Venezuela

  • Yemen

  • Zimbabwe 

University owned technology (laptops, tablets, etc) may require a license if taken to a sanctioned country by University personnel even if traveling on personal business. The University strongly discourages personnel from taking University owned equipment and technology to sanctioned countries on personal business. Please contact us with any questions.

For more information and guidance, please see: